David Chipperfield wins 2023 Pritzker Structure Prize

British architect David Chipperfield has been awarded this yr’s Pritzker Structure Prize for his “understated however transformative” physique of labor that spans over 4 a long time.

Chipperfield is the 52nd winner of the celebrated Pritzker Structure Prize, which is taken into account probably the most important award in worldwide structure.

High picture: David Chipperfield has gained the 2023 Pritzker Structure Prize. Above: the River and Rowing Museum was an early main undertaking. Picture courtesy of Richard Bryant /Arcaid

The 2023 jury hailed him for “steering away from traits” and recognised his “dedication to an structure of understated however transformative civic presence”.

“Such a capability to distill and carry out meditated design operations is a dimension of sustainability that has not been apparent lately,” learn the jury’s quotation. “Sustainability as pertinence not solely eliminates the superfluous however can be step one to creating buildings in a position to final, bodily and culturally.”

the James Simon Galerie in Berlin 
Extra just lately David Chipperfield Architects created the James Simon Galerie in Berlin. Picture by Simon Menges

Born in London in 1953, Chipperfield started his profession after graduating from the Kingston Faculty of Artwork in 1976 and later from the Architectural Affiliation in 1977.

He labored for fellow Prtizker Structure Prize-laureates Norman Foster and Richard Rogers, earlier than establishing his eponymous studio David Chipperfield Architects in London in 1985. At this time, his studio has places of work in Berlin, Milan, Shanghai and Santiago de Compostela.

Museo Jumex by David Chipperfield in Mexico City
Chipperfield is the architect behind Museo Jumex in Mexico Metropolis. Picture by Simon Menges

In response to the information, the architect mentioned he was “so overwhelmed to obtain this extraordinary honour and to be related to the earlier recipients”.

“I take this award as an encouragement to proceed to direct my consideration not solely to the substance of structure and its that means but in addition to the contribution that we will make as architects to deal with the existential challenges of local weather change and societal inequality,” Chipperfield added.

Certainly one of David Chipperfield Architects’ first main initiatives was the linear River and Rowing Museum on the River Thames, which he accomplished along with his studio in 1997.

Cementing him as a go-to architect for civic and cultural buildings, this led his studio on to creating landmark buildings together with the Hepworth in Wakefield in 2011, Saint Louis Artwork Museum in Missouri in 2013, the Museo Jumex in Mexico Metropolis in 2013 and James Simon Galerie in Berlin in 2018.

Exterior of renovated Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin 
His studio specialises in renovations and restored the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin. Picture by Simon Menges

Different key initiatives by David Chipperfield Architects within the public realm are the Veles e Vents in Valencia in 2006, the Turner Modern in Margate in 2011 and the Inagawa Cemetery Chapel and Customer Middle in 2017.

His studio has additionally delved into places of work and housing typologies with initiatives together with the Amorepacific Headquarters in Seoul in 2017 and the Hoxton Press residences in London in 2018.

Renovations are one other speciality of David Chipperfield Architects, which has seen it revamp the likes of Berlin’s Neues Museum initially by Friedrich August Stüler in 2009 and the Neue Nationalgalerie designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe in 2021.

Elsewhere, the studio is at the moment engaged on a rammed-earth extension for the Nationwide Archaeological Museum in Athens and the refurbishment of the long-lasting Jenners division retailer in Edinburgh.

Exterior of The Hepworth gallery by David Chipperfield from across the water
The Hepworth gallery in Wakefield is amongst his studio’s notable initiatives. Picture by Iwan Baan

Alongside the Pritzker Structure Prize, Chipperfield has acquired a number of different accolades and honours together with the RIBA Royal Gold Medal in 2010, the Mies van der Rohe Award in 2011 and the Japan Artwork Affiliation’s Praemium Imperiale for Structure in 2013.

In 2004, he was appointed as Commander of the Order of the British Empire. Later, he was knighted in 2010 earlier than being appointed to the Order of the Companions of Honour in 2021.

Whereas practising as an architect, Chipperfield is an writer and educator at varied institutes together with the State Academy of Tremendous Arts Stuttgart and Yale College. He additionally curated the thirteenth Biennale Architettura in 2012.

He will probably be awarded the prize on the 2023 Pritzker Prize ceremony in Athens in Might.

the Amorepacific Headquarters in Seoul
Chipperfield created the Amorepacific Headquarters in Seoul. Picture courtesy of Noshe

This yr’s jury was chaired by architect Alejandro Aravena and consisted of architects Kazuyo Sejima, Deborah Berke, Wang Shu and Benedetta Tagliabue.

Historian Barry Bergdoll was additionally on the panel, alongside critic André Aranha Corrêa do Lago, lawyer Stephen Gerald Breyer and Pritzker Structure Prize govt director Manuela Lucá-Dazio.

Final yr, the Pritzker Structure Prize was given to Diébédo Francis Kéré, who was the primary African architect to win the award. Different winners of the award embody architects Frank Gehry, Renzo Piano, Zaha Hadid and Arata Isozaki.